So fresh, Israel…

While people in Europe (well, Sweden at least) were gathered to watch the Eurovision song contest final, Israel was bombing Gaza, once again. And the same evening Israel won the Eurovision song contest, which from the beginning was meant to “bring together the countries of the EBU (European Broadcasting Union) when the war-torn Europe was rebuilding itself in the 1950s”.

The performance of the winning song can also be seen as more or less racist and CA: using kimono-ish clothing with no respect to what a kimono actually symbolizes and how it should be worn (also kind of ironic that kimono in Japan is “a formal style of clothing associated with politeness and good manners”…), and playing around like chickens..? Wtf.

I seriously don’t care if the song was supposed to be “empowering”, “feministic” and “against bullying” and stuff that I’ve seen comments on, when at the same time the home country of the performer is making the life of especially the women (but of course also men) in Palestine even harder than before; wars and conflicts usually affect women harder than men. I would rather see a feministic anti-bullying perspective in the world politics than on a ridiculous winning song on a song contest…

And don’t even try to say Eurovision is not about politics, especially when Israel gets the chance to host the competitions next year, and therefore needs to mute all Palestinian protests to make Israel seem like a nice country.

(And hahah, in one group on Facebook me and others with a view similar to mine got called antisemites, lol… I don’t blame all Jews for bombing Gaza or even supporting the killing of Palestinians and occupying their territory: just the Israeli authorities. I don’t hate all Christians or Americans either, or blame them, even though I hate Trump. Just as an example. And I don’t hate Netta either, I think she as impressive singer, I just wonder who even came up with all that shit…)

Leave a comment